Madison Jr/Sr High School Mohawk News from Principal Justin Smith

Mohawk News                       

Parent Edition #1                                                                                               October, 2014

 


MAP - The school year is well under way and students and staff have been hard at work throughout the first nine-week grading period.  Students have already taken the Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) Fall 2014 assessments in grades 7-10 in English/Language Arts and Science classes and grades 7-11 in Mathematics classes.  These assessments give teachers data identifying areas of strengths and weaknesses in all students so that they can create individualized instruction to meet those specific needs.

 

State Report Card – The 2013-2014 Ohio school report card was released in late September and Madison High School received an ‘A’ for indicators (we met all 10), ‘B’ for Performance Index (103.3 points out of 120) and an ‘A’ for Annual Measurable Objectives (how well students are doing in reading, math and graduation). Madison Junior High School received a ‘B’ for indicators (we met 4 out of 5), a ‘B’ for Performance Index (98.87 points out of 120) and an ‘A’ for Annual Measureable Objectives.  We did not reach the 8th grade science indicator.  In addition to the letter grades, the new report card also emphasized subgroups, such as economically disadvantaged, gifted and disabled students.  We are utilizing MAP assessments, Student Learning Objectives (SLO’s), an increase of honors classes in junior high core subjects and high school Social Studies to meet these needs.

 

Next Generation Assessments/End of Course Exams – Ohio is transitioning from the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to Next Generation Assessments/End of Course Exams, starting with the class of 2018 (current Freshmen).  Freshmen will take exams this year in English, Algebra I or Geometry and physical science and biology that will count towards their graduation.  Current sophomores will take the OGT.  Students in American History and Civics will take Next Generation Assessments that won’t count towards their graduation.  More information can be found at education.ohio.gov and on at www.madisonmohawks.org.

 

Financial Aid Night – There will be a Financial Aid Night at 5:00 pm on October 23 in the MJSHS Media Center with a financial advisor from Miami University Middletown to help students and parents with financial questions for college.

 

ProgressBook – We will continue to offer parents access to Progress Book, our teacher’s grading and student information system.  You can log on from the Madison School website:  www.madisonmohawks.org. By using Parent Access you will be able to monitor the following:

·       Check your student’s current grade in all of his/her classes

·       Find out about current homework assignments

·       Monitor your student’s attendance

·       Read messages from your student’s teachers

 

If you are having trouble accessing your Parent Access account or need your username and password reset, please call the school (420-4760) or email the principal at justin.smith@madisonmohawks.org.

 

Any Time – Please feel free to call or stop by if you have any questions or concerns regarding our school.  We welcome parent involvement in our school and look forward to working with you to support ALL students.

 

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, October 22 – Picture Retake Day

Thursday, October 23 – Parent Teacher Conferences/Financial Aid Night (5:00 pm in MJSHS Media Center)

Friday, October 27 – November 9 – Fall OGT

Tuesday, November 4 – Butler County Professional Development Day (No School for Students)

Wednesday, November 5 – VIP Breakfast

 

Contacts

Administration

·       Principal – Mr. Justin Smith – justin.smith@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4760

·       Assistant Principal/Athletic Director – Mr. Darren Stevens – darren.stevens@madisonmohawks.org 420-4760

·       Dean of Students – Mr. Jeff Rippl – jeff.rippl@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4760

Guidance

·       7-9 Counselor – Mr. Todd Barnhart – todd.barnhart@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4760

·       9-12 Counselor – Mrs. Rachel Conley – rachel.conley@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4760

   Other

·       Superintendent – Mr. Curtis Philpot – curtis.philpot@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4750

·       Transportation – Mr. Bryan Howard – bhoward@petermannbus.com - 420-4779

 

 

                      

 
Nurse – Mrs. Mary Fose – mary.fose@madisonmohawks.org - 420-4760
Published Print